Policy Address

IV. New Impetus to the Economy: Integration into the National Development

Leveraging Our Country and Engaging Ourselves Globally

38. The loud and clear heading of “Integration into the National Development” in the economy chapter in this year’s Policy Address has expressly stated that the developments of Hong Kong and our country are closely related. Only by leveraging the Central Government’s policies in support of Hong Kong can we give full play to our unique strengths, which will in turn bring continuous impetus to our economy.

39. Hailed as an economic miracle, Hong Kong has evolved from an obscure fishing port to an international financial, trade and transportation centre today. Having undergone numerous rounds of restructuring, regardless of whether they occurred before or after our return to the Motherland, the Hong Kong economy has always been closely intertwined with the development of our country. Driven by changes to the external environment, guided by the direction of the Mainland policies and led by the market forces, all these restructuring processes have been attributed to the remarkable acumen, brilliant versatility and “can-do” spirit of Hong Kong entrepreneurs. The current-term Government stresses that we should play the role of a “facilitator” and a “promoter” to keep connecting with the world to open up markets and explore business opportunities for our enterprises. Yet, notwithstanding the huge Mainland market, the local political forces against the Central Government have more often than not stood in our way, preventing us from reaping fully the benefits of our country’s development.

40. Fortunately, the implementation of the National Security Law and the improvement to our electoral system have restored safety and stability in society. Hong Kong is now ready again for a new start for economic development. The 14th Five-Year Plan, the Outline Development Plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, the Plan for Comprehensive Deepening Reform and Opening Up of the Qianhai Shenzhen-Hong Kong Modern Service Industry Co-operation Zone, the economic development pattern of not only greater domestic circulation but also domestic and international dual circulation, as well as the Belt and Road Initiative, have brought unlimited opportunities for enterprises and professional services providers in Hong Kong, thereby allowing Hong Kong to benefit from its proximity to the Mainland. I will highlight how we shall leverage the Central Government’s support to enhance our competitiveness as the eight international centres or hubs charted in the 14th Five-Year Plan with a view to building a brighter future for Hong Kong. We have prepared fact sheets on each centre/hub for promotional purposes. All are welcome to read and help distribute to those interested.

施政報告

(四) 經濟新動力:融入國家發展大局

背靠國家   面向世界

38. 今年《施政報告》的經濟篇章,開宗明義以「融入國家發展大局」為題,表明香港發展與國家發展息息相關;香港只要用好中央支持特區的政策,發揮獨特優勢,將可為經濟注入源源不絕的動力。

39. 香港的發展被譽為一個經濟奇蹟,從一個小漁港蛻變成為今天的國際金融、貿易、航運中心,香港經濟經歷了一次又一次的轉型,但無論是回歸前或回歸後,都和國家發展密不可分。這些轉型依靠的是外在形勢的客觀變化、內地的政策引導、市場主導和香港企業家那份觸覺敏銳、靈活應變的拼搏精神。本屆政府強調政府應擔當「促成者」和「推廣者」的角色,不斷連繫世界,開拓市場,為企業尋找商機;反而面對龐大的內地市場,卻往往因為本地一股抗拒中央的政治力量而未能讓香港盡享國家發展的紅利。

40. 幸好,隨着《香港國安法》實施和完善特區選舉制度,社會恢復安全穩定,香港現在又處於一個經濟發展的新起點。《十四五規劃綱要》、《粵港澳大灣區發展規劃綱要》、《全面深化前海深港現代服務業合作區改革開放方案》、國內大循環和國內國際雙循環的經濟發展格局,以及「一帶一路」倡議等都為香港企業和專業服務提供者帶來無限機遇,更令香港享有「近水樓台先得月」的優勢。我將重點說明我們如何用好中央支持,提升香港在《十四五規劃綱要》中八個中心的國際競爭力,為香港開拓更美好未來。我們特別印製了有關每一個中心的便覽,供宣傳推廣之用,歡迎各界取閱和協助分發給有興趣人士。