The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government is committed to ensuring that it is open and fully accountable to the people of Hong Kong. Policies, aims and programmes must be clear to all so that the Government can be accountable for their delivery. With greater clarity of purpose and accessibility, the public can better assess our performance and help us improve our quality of service.

         The Policy Programmes, which underpin the Policy Address delivered by the Chief Executive in October 1997, explain the objectives and ongoing work of each Policy Bureau and its supporting departments, as well as Department of Justice, Office of the Judiciary Administrator, Independent Commission Against Corruption and the Administration Wing of the Chief Secretary for Administration's Office, and their proposed new commitments for the coming year. They are set out in three sections:

Department of Justice

Administration Wing of the Chief Secretary for Administration's Office

Broadcasting, Culture and Sport Bureau

Civil Service Bureau

Constitutional Affairs Bureau

Economic Services Bureau

Education and Manpower Bureau

Finance Bureau

Financial Services Bureau

Health and Welfare Bureau

Home Affairs Bureau

Housing Bureau

Independent Commission Against Corruption

Judiciary Administration

Planning, Environment and Lands Bureau

Security Bureau

Trade and Industry Bureau

Transport Bureau

Works Bureau