Policy Address

Universities’ Research Work

59. Our strong research capabilities have all along been well recognised both nationally and internationally. To date, Hong Kong has 16 State Key Laboratories, 6 Hong Kong Branches of Chinese National Engineering Research Centres and 22 Joint Laboratories with the Chinese Academy of Sciences. In recent years, the Central Government has made available quite a number of national research and development projects and funding schemes to researchers in Hong Kong. Hong Kong is blessed with a wealth of talents, with five world top-100 universities and many scholars and experts winning top international and national research awards.

60. To consolidate Hong Kong’s leading position in basic research, we have accepted in principle the proposals of the University of Hong Kong (HKU) and The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) to provide the two universities with land for research use, including reserving a 4-hectare site currently zoned “Green Belt” at Pokfulam for HKU to construct facilities for deep technology research, as well as supporting CUHK to use a 2.5-hectare site in the vicinity of the CUHK Medical Centre mainly zoned “Government, Institution or Community” to build research facilities and expand the Medical Centre, and at the same time improving the existing public transport interchange and parking facilities at the University Station of the East Rail Line. We will also support The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) in exploring the use of its Hung Hom Bay Campus, which is currently used for self-financing post-secondary education, for academic and research development.

Industrial Estates

61. The Government will continue to promote re-industrialisation with a five-pronged approach, namely infrastructure, talents, capital, technology and research, so as to make our industrial value chain more complete and our economy more diversified. The Advanced Manufacturing Centre at the Tseung Kwan O Industrial Estate and the Microelectronics Centre at the Yuen Long Industrial Estate will be completed in the middle of next year and in 2023 respectively. The good industry response to these two facilities indicates that many enterprises share the view that high value-added and technology-intensive manufacturing processes and production lines can be set up in Hong Kong. In view of this, I have invited the HKSTPC to start planning for the construction of the second Advanced Manufacturing Centre.

施政報告

大學科研

59. 香港雄厚的科研實力,一直備受國家以至國際肯定。我們至今已設有16所國家重點實驗室、6所國家工程技術研究中心香港分中心,及22間中國科學院聯合實驗室;近年更獲得中央政府開放了國家不少科研項目及資助計劃予香港的研發人員。香港作為一個城市,擁有五所全球100強的大學,不少學者專家榮獲國際及國內頂尖科研獎項,可見人才濟濟。

60. 為鞏固香港在基礎研究的領導地位,我們原則上接納香港大學(港大)和香港中文大學(中大)的建議,為兩所大學提供土地作科研用途,分別於薄扶林為港大預留4公頃現屬「綠化地帶」的土地興建深科技研發大樓,並支持中大在中大醫院附近2.5公頃主要為「政府、機構或社區」的土地設立研究設施和擴充中大醫院,並同時改善現有東鐵大學站的公共運輸交匯處和泊車設施。我們亦會支持香港理工大學(理大)研究把其用作提供自資專上教育的紅磡灣校舍,進行學術和研究發展。

工業邨

61. 政府會持續從基建、人才、資金、技術及科研五大方面推動「再工業化」,令我們的產值鏈更為完備及經濟更為多元。位於將軍澳工業邨的先進製造業中心和元朗工業邨的微電子中心將分別於明年中和2023年完工。業界對這兩項設施反應理想,反映不少企業認同高附加值和高技術含量的製造工序和生產線可在香港落戶。有鑑於此,我已邀請科技園公司開始構思興建第二個先進製造業中心。